Me, Myself and I

This one’s for you, for Us. For the Me that I used to be and the Me that younger Me would’ve been so proud of me but the Older Me just cant find happiness in. This one’s for Me, the Me that I used to be and the Me that I’ve become and the parts of me that I never saw myself becoming. This one’s for me and the version of myself that I can still somedays see in the reflection. The me that I so often in catch in little things I do and the laugh that comes bursting out of my lungs and the way that I cross my legs and stand or the way that I raise my glasses from the bridge of my nose and the me that holds onto herself at night almost every night and the me that no matter what goes on is still the Me that I have always known true to be.

You will get there. You will be the image of perfection someday (because somehow that’s all it is that you have been chasing) and for a fleeting moment you will see yourself outside of your body and you will see that yes, you have become what you had always wanted to be. But you never stopped being the 13 year old who had stopped growing tall or the 14 year old who had a massive acne breakout or the 15 year old who had it all at the time, the friends, the love, the grades and the family or the 16 year old who knew the end was near and had started to see clearly, who had finally started to experience the bitter more than the sweet or the 17 year old who practically spent the days making memories and the nights being thrown into all the memories that she didn’t want to remember and some that she couldn’t forget or the 18 year old who finally stepped out of her house and saw a little bit of this gigantic mess of a world.
Here’s to you and all of your achievements and all of your mishaps and all of your falls and rises and all of your truths and lies and all of your betrayals and sorrows. This one’s for you, you made it and you are still making it for nobody but Yourself.

Leave a Reply

